Please contact us via live chat at the bottom right of your screen.
If "leave a message" is shown this means no travel consultant is currently online. Leave your details and we will contact you as soon as possible.

City Pretoria

Pretoria was long considered the fortress of apartheid, but since the arrival of Nelson Mandela, the city has become the standard-bearer of shared power and tolerance. Large buildings in Victorian style stand harmoniously alongside parks and squares adorned with statues and jacarandas. Since 2005, the name of this political capital changed to Tshwane, which means "we are the same". However, most people still use the name Pretoria.

Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa. The Assembly gave its agreement to build a city that would bear the name Pretoria. This decision was taken on 16 December 1855, a date which is regarded as the birth date of Pretoria. The name was chosen by Marthinus Wessel Pretorius, as a tribute to his father, Commandant-General Andries Pretorius, hero of the Blood River and negotiator with the British. He signed the Convention of the Sand River, which became independent as Transvaal. Pretoria became the seat of government on 1 May 1860.

Great Pretoria extends over a distance of 900 km² and has a population of over 1.6 million inhabitants.

The city has the "Voortrekker Monument", which dedicated a huge memorial to the 'Boers'. The memorial tells the story of the 'Groot Trek'. It is the symbol of the Afrikaner nation and its history. Here is also the home of Paul Kruger. He lived here during his presidency from 1883 to 1900. The house, listed as a historic monument, has been transformed into a museum about the life of Kruger and his era. In the heart of downtown, in Church Square, stands the statue of Paul Kruger. The square is surrounded by impressive public buildings, such as the 'Old Raadsaal' and the Palace of Justice. In the northeast it is dominated by the Pretoria Union Building, built on a hill as a seat of government by the English architect Sir Herbert Baker between 1910 and 1913. On 9 May 1994 the inauguration took place here by Nelson Mandela. Decorated with a columns hemisphere, which is flanked by towers with a domed roof on both sides and two identical wings were built. From the 275m long building, you have a beautiful view over the city.

Pretoria is called Tshwane by the Sotho-speaking population. The city has another (nick) name: "Jacaranda City". This is due to the presence of 70 000-Jacaranda trees (rosewood trees) which are located along the streets. If the trees bloom during October, the beauty of the city is to its fullest.

By an excellent tourist infrastructure Pretoria is also an ideal holiday destination. It also has a vibrant nightlife with many students.

Your holiday begins at South Africa Specialist!